Queen Latifah to host the NAACP Image Awards

The host of the 54th NAACP Picture Award was revealed live on “CBS Mornings” on Tuesday. Queen Latifah, Grammy, Emmy and Golden Globe Award-winning actress and musician, will host the ceremony on Saturday, February 25.

The awards celebrate black artists in film, television, theater, music and literature.

“It is an honor to host the 54th NAACP Image Awards, especially in the year we celebrate 50 years of Hip Hop,” Queen Latifah said in a press release. “It’s a night to celebrate black excellence and the contribution of black people to our industry and beyond. Celebrate each other, lift each other up and you know we’ll have fun doing it. !”

Connie Orlando, executive vice president of specials, music programming and music strategy at BET, called Queen Latifah “one of the most influential and iconic voices of our generation” and a “breakthrough megastar. “.

Queen Latifah will not be the only big name of the evening. Presenters will include Janelle Monae, Taye Diggs, Kerry Washington, Jonathan Majors and Zendaya.

The awards also recognize the achievements of political leaders and activists. According to the press release, the Activist of the Year award will go to Dr. Derrick Lee Foward, president of the NAACP’s Dayton Unit and vice president of the NAACP of Ohio. Foward has worked with the NAACP for nearly two decades.

The Young Activist of the Year award will go to Bradley Ross Jackson, president of the Bloomington-Normal NAACP Youth Council in Bloomington, Indiana. Jackson will be honored for organizing a peaceful protest of more than 1,000 people in response to the murder of george floyd.

Notable names including Democratic Congressman Bennie G. Thompson of Mississippi, civil rights attorney Ben Crumpformer basketball star Dwayne Wade and actress Gabrielle Union-Wade will also receive honours.

“This year’s NAACP Image Awards will be an incredible celebration, highlighting major accomplishments by political leaders, artists, activists and other changemakers,” said Derrick Johnson, NAACP President and CEO, in the press release. “It will also be an evening that shows how our community can come together and positively impact each other and the world.”

The awards show will air live on BET and simulcast on Paramount Global networks including BET HER, CBS, CMT, Comedy Central, LOGO, MTV, MTV2, Paramount Network, POP TV, Smithsonian, TV Land and VH1.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *